Skip to content

NCAA College Baseball Regionals Projections 04 Apr 2016

April 4, 2016
TD Ameritrade Park in Omaha, NE - home of the 2016 College World Series

TD Ameritrade Park in Omaha, NE – home of the 2016 College World Series

We’re just about two months away from NCAA Baseball Regionals action. With the season half in the books, I figured it was time to put together my first regionals projection of the season. While compiling this projection, I used numerous factors in determining who I predict will go where, including current record, future schedule, RPI, conference strength and statistical intangibles (I won’t try to define that last factor….it’s something I do and defies explanation).

Of course, the final Field of 64 will look completely different from this, so if there’s a team or two (or three) you think don’t deserve to be included, just wait. They might not make it (or, they might). You never know what the committee will come up with in late May.

Gainesville Regional
(1) Florida (SEC champion)
Michigan State (Big Ten at-large)
Loyola Marymount (WCC at-large)
Monmouth (MAAC champion)

Hattiesburg Regional
Southern Mississippi (C-USA champion)
LSU (SEC at-large)
Virginia (ACC at-large)
St. Mary’s (WCC at-large)

Clemson Regional
(8) Clemson (ACC at-large)
Mississippi State (SEC at-large)
Old Dominion (C-USA at-large)
Kent State (MAC champion)

Nashville Regional
Vanderbilt (SEC at-large)
Pittsburgh (ACC at-large)
Nebraska (Big Ten at-large)
Wright State (Horizon champion)

Tallahassee Regional
(4) Florida State (ACC at-large)
Louisiana-Lafayette (Sun Belt at-large)
Minnesota (Big Ten at-large)
Florida A&M (MEAC champion)

College Station Regional
Texas A&M (SEC at-large)
Oklahoma State (Big 12 at-large)
Lamar (Southland at-large)
Oral Roberts (Summit champion)

Louisville Regional
(5) Louisville (ACC at-large)
Kentucky (SEC at-large)
Creighton (Big East champion)
Missouri State (MVC champion)

Los Angeles Regional
UC Santa Barbara (Big West champion)
BYU (WCC champion)
Fresno State (MWC champion)
Seattle (WAC champion)

Columbia Regional
(3) South Carolina (SEC at-large)
Gonzaga (WCC at-large)
East Carolina (AAC champion)
Navy (Patriot champion)

Charleston Regional
College of Charleston (Colonial champion)
NC State (ACC at-large)
Hartford (America East champion)
Princeton (Ivy champion)

Chapel Hill Regional
(6) North Carolina (ACC at-large)
Michigan (Big Ten champion)
UNC Greensboro (Southern champion)
Southeast Missouri State (OVC champion)

Myrtle Beach Regional
Coastal Carolina (Big South champion)
Georgia Tech (ACC at-large)
Bryant (Northeast champion)
VCU (Atlantic 10 champion)

Coral Gables Regional
(2) Miami-Florida (ACC champion)
Texas Tech (Big 12 at-large)
Northwestern State (Southland at-large)
Florida Gulf Coast (Atlantic Sun champion)

Fort Worth Regional
TCU (Big 12 champion)
Rice (C-USA at-large)
Oregon State (PAC-12 at-large)
Houston (AAC at-large)

Oxford Regional
(7) Mississippi (SEC at-large)
California (PAC-12 champion)
New Orleans (Sun Belt at-large)
Southeastern Louisiana (Southland champion)

Mobile Regional
South Alabama (Sun Belt champion)
Florida Atlantic (C-USA at-large)
Tulane (AAC at-large)
Alabama State (SWAC champion)


From → Sports

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: