Skip to content

My Top-25 One-Hit Wonders

January 29, 2015

OneMany “classic hits” stations will have a “specialty weekend” where they feature “One-Hit Wonders”. Depending on who you ask, fine reader, the definition of said songs will vary. My criteria for a “One-Hit Wonder” is simple: an artist has one big single on the Billboard Hot-100 Chart and, fails to crack the Top-40 with previous (or subsequent) singles. For example: one of my favorite songs that some consider a “One-Hit Wonder” is Jay Ferguson’s “Thunder Island”, which peaked at #9 in January, 1978. However, a follow-up song, “Shakedown Cruise” reached #31 in June 1979, rendering the former song ineligible.

This is not a list of the most successful “One-Hit Wonders”, only my top-25 favorites.

1. Chevy Van – Sammy Johns

2. Love Grows (Where My Rosemary Goes) – Edison Lighthouse

3. Romeo’s Tune – Steve Forbert

4. Knock on Wood – Amii Stewart

5. In the Summertime – Mungo Jerry

6. Play That Funky Music – Wild Cherry

7. Funky Town – Pseudo Echo

8. Mambo No. 5 (A Little Bit Of…) – Lou Bega

9. Come on Eileen – Dexy’s Midnight Runners

10. Cars – Gary Numan

11. Vehicle – The Ides of March

12. Turn the Beat Around – Vicki Sue Robinson

13. Grazing in the Grass – Hugh Masekela

14. Mr. Big Stuff – Jean Knight

15. I’m Too Sexy – Right Said Fred

16. Dirty Water – The Standells

17. In a Big Country – Big Country

18. One Toke Over the Line – Brewer & Shipley

19. I Can Help – Billy Swan

20. Beds Are Burning – Midnight Oil

21. Magnet and Steel – Walter Egan

22. New York Groove – Ace Frehley

23. Psychotic Reaction – Count Five

24. Pump Up the Volume – M/A/R/R/S

25. My Baby Loves Lovin’ – White Plains

These are my fave 25. I’m not saying that your favorite is something I dislike. Perhaps, depending on the amount of hits, I’ll do a Part II.

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

